Raffia Crochet

The Malagasy craftsman, rich with his multicultural and multiracial origins, has taken advantage of his exceptional environment and the wealth of rare and original natural materials to create objects with unique refinement.

The “raphia-knitted” technique applied to the Raphia fibers is an essential component of this both diverse and complex craftmanship.

The different points, whether simple or more advanced, are all handmade. It is a slow and precise work requiring great dexterity and know-how passed down for several generations.

The tension of the fiber, the realization of the point as well as its regularity give its shape and homogeneity to the hat or the bag. The result is almost unique pieces that may require several days of work.

A complete collection like ours is the result of the combined work of a large number of people: the design creation in France, as well at the product making by our partner workshops in Madagascar

 

Catalog download

News

the Raffia

Raffia is a very strong textile fiber used in Madagascar to make string and rabanne. It is also the raw material from which all products in our “raffia hand-knitted” range are made. It was named after the tree it originates from: a very large palm tree found in Madagascar as well as throughout East Africa. Everything is good in the raffia, you can make salads with its core, oil with its seeds, and part of the traditional roofs of the east coast of Madagascar are made with its stems. Once the large palms are cut (not easily because of [...]

• chapeau borsa
  • Grande CAPELINE
  • Sac MIAMA
  • Pochette BROADWAY
  • Sac ROME

le Crochet

L’artisan malgache, riche de ses origines multiculturelles et multiraciales, a su tirer parti de son environnement exceptionnel ainsi que d’une profusion de matières naturelles rares et originales afin de créer des objets au raffinement unique.

La technique du crochet appliquée aux fibres de Raphia est une composante essentielle de cet « art »isanat à la fois divers et complexe.

Les différents points, qu’ils soient simples ou plus évolués, sont tous exécutés à la main. C’est un travail lent et précis nécessitant une grande dextérité et un savoir-faire transmis depuis plusieurs générations.

La tension de la fibre, la réalisation du point ainsi que sa régularité donne sa forme et son homogénéité au chapeau ou au sac. Il en résulte des pièces toutes quasiment uniques et qui peuvent nécessiter plusieurs jours de travail.

Une collection complète comme la nôtre est donc le résultat du travail combiné d’un grand nombre de personnes. Autant à la création des designs en France, qu’à la réalisation des produits par nos ateliers partenaires à Madagascar.

Télécharger le catalogue

Actualités

le Raphia

Le raphia est une fibre textile très solide, utilisée à Madagascar pour fabriquer de la ficelle et de la Rabanne. C’est aussi la matière première à partir de laquelle sont travaillés tous les produits de notre gamme Crochet. Elle tire son nom de son origine, un très grand palmier que l’on trouve à Madagascar ainsi que dans toute l’Afrique orientale. Tout est bon dans le raphia, on peut en faire des salades avec son cœur, de l’huile avec ses graines, et une partie des toitures traditionnelles de la côte Est de Madagascar sont faites avec ses tiges. Une fois [...]